↑ Return to Violence Against Women

National Aboriginal Womens Summit (NAWS)

In June 2007 the first National Aboriginal Women’s Summit (NAWS I) was held in Corner Brook, NL.  The Summit brought together Aboriginal women from across Canada and resulted in numerous recommendations aimed at improving social/economic conditions of Aboriginal women and their families.

The second National Aboriginal Women’s Summit (NAWS II) was held in July 2008 in Yellowknife, NWT.  The agenda for NAWS II was developed by a National Planning Committee that included the Government of the NorthWest Territories, the Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC) and representatives from:

  • Assembly of First Nations (AFN);

  • Métis National Council (MNC);

  • Women of the Métis Nation (WMN);

  • Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK);

  • Congress of Aboriginal Peoples (CAP);

  • Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada;

  • National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC); and

  • National Aboriginal Circle Against Family Violence (NACAFV).

Hundreds of Aboriginal women delegates from across the country gathered together and met with provincial, territorial and federal governments to further advance issues faced by Aboriginal women in Canada.  Through presentations and plenary discussions, NAWS II built upon and advanced the recommendations developed at NAWS I in three theme areas:

  • Health, Safety and Wellness;

  • Equality and Empowerment; and

  • Strength, Balance and Honour.

NAWS III was held on  November 2012.